A Taste of Summer on a Tuesday Night

Standard

I feel like last night was a preview of all the magnificence this summer will hold.  And by magnificence I mean spending quality time with my family and just relaxing around the house.  As much as I would love to go to the beach this summer, it just isn’t feasible with the baby on the way.  If the Tuesday evening we enjoyed last night is any indication of what the rest of the summer will be like, I don’t think we’ll miss the sand or the waves one single bit.

wpid-20150505_162316.jpg

Arabella had her first official swimming lesson last night. I was feeling like a total slacker mom since she’s five and doesn’t know how to swim, but she’s never been interested enough to focus during a lesson.  I mean, she LOVES to play in the water, but she’s always been content to float in a a raft or a ring or play in shallow water like at the kiddie pool.  We tried swimming lessons last summer, but it didn’t really work out.  So when she mentioned swimming lessons in the bathtub last week, I called the YMCA within 12 hours, before she could change her mind.

She didn’t want to get out of the pool after her 45 minutes were up, so out came the sprinkler when we got home. She was shrieking and giggling so much the neighbors across the street were watching.  It was true bliss.

wpid-20150505_192156.jpg

While she was occupied, I got the new flowers planted.  I have something of a black thumb, so I’m praying these stay alive. I planted a mixture of hostas, azaleas, asparagus fern, and bellflowers, trying to mimic a mixed look they had at Lowe’s (theirs were $60…I needed two…it wasn’t happening).

wpid-20150505_192223.jpg

with the wreath I made on Sunday 😉

wpid-20150505_192245.jpg

Let’s all just pray I remember to water them…

When everything was finished, I stretched out on the sofa on the porch and read more of The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August while Bella played.  I took a picture of my view, just to remember how much better what I was seeing in that moment truly felt in comparison to staring at my computer screen every night.

wpid-20150505_193002.jpg

I enjoyed this little taste of summer…the water, the flowers, the lazy time reading in the sun. Not too bad for a Tuesday night.

One response »

  1. It feels so good when you have days like the one you described. It makes you want to bottle it up so it can always be like that. I too am looking forward to relaxing some and letting Jack have more play freedom. Goodbye strict schedule, even if it is just for a few months.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

